do you think you’re vegan?

probably you aren’t.

because being a real vegan is an almost impossible goal to attain.

don’t throw me your stones just yet. let me explain why i say this.

you’ll agree with me that being a vegan means to stop exploiting animals in any way, and treating them with kindness instead. as equals.

in a world that doesn’t even treat humans equally, you might imagine how hard that may be. specially when we are so used to this behaviour of using animals for our own comfort.

but that’s not really my point, is it?

as i was saying, i feel kind of powerless when i think about on my vegan journey. i know i’m still a newbie, but no one expects me to change overnight. i hope.

and i feel powerless because there are a million things i need to do to use that “vegan badge” (as if it was something so honourable it needs a medal).

when i eat my veggies, and my fruits, and my cereals, i can’t be sure of how vegan they are.

what if they have come from animal exploration agriculture? what if pesticides were used?

and my coconut oil, was a monkey used to catch the coconut from where this product was made?

and all the plastic i’m using: is it killing animals?

and the oil used in the buses i take to go for work? isn’t it polluting the air, and the water, and the soil?

and the clothes i wear? are they gmo free? were humans exploited in the process?

and the…

do you see where i’m going?

there’s always a new level of veganism. there’s always something else we can do.

there’s always a way to be more kind.

keep loving. keep veganizing. 😉

// photo credit by mehdi genest on unsplash

 

 

 

7 Replies to “do you think you’re vegan?”

  1. I know this struggle all too well. I believe that some of the medications I have to take for my mental and physical health contain non-vegan ingredients unfortunately. No one expects you to be perfect. Trying your hardest is more than most care to do. Always take pride in that and keep going. You got this. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely! Even the smallest steps still make a big difference to the animals. I’m sure they’d thank you for your efforts.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a matter of ethics. We do the best we can and minimize the harm as much as possible. Veganism is not a religion. It is a path of reducing harm. Not consuming or wearing animals is the absolute least we can do.

    Liked by 2 people

share your vision!