the challenge of going vegan

// taking responsibility for my every action. as everything i do will have an effect on others, either i’m aware of that or not.

~ #15 of 17 mantras of simple living

whoa, that’s a big goal, isn’t it?

to be 100% responsible is a lot of pressure, but one i’m willing to take. because i know it will make me a more conscious person about the way i live.

there are many ways i’m doing this, but today i want to talk about

going vegan

i’ve tried in the past, and it always have been in my mind. but i never found a way to make it happen.

what went wrong?

i went full speed, instead of slow.

i didn’t think about the kind of meals i’d eat.

nor even the kind of food that i enjoy.

i didn’t write about my advancements.

or question myself what was going right, and what was going left.

i didn’t pay attention to what my body was telling me.

nor how i felt.

 

now,

i want to make myself accountable. i want to take baby steps. i want to discover myself in other ways: my relationship with food and body.

so, i’m making a challenge of myself. and every week, from friday to friday, i’ll remove or add something of my diet that will help me reach the goal of being vegan.

you can join me any time, if you want to. it would be a lot more fun to have someone to talk about this, and to share experiences.

are you ready for #aweekwithnomeat?

i’ll be on instagram sharing photos of my meals and cooking processes, and on facebook sharing recipes and the things i find out on this experience. i invite you to do the same using the hashtag above.

i’ve started already. and i dare you to join me.Β πŸ’›

#themaskwriter

// photo byΒ Jamie StreetΒ onΒ Unsplash

 

16 Replies to “the challenge of going vegan”

  1. I’m trying to ease myself into it too. Next week I am doing a week of vegetarian and then the week after that I’m trying vegan. I have been researching recipes and they seem fun and tasty so I’m excited but nervous!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried to cut meat from my diet but it’s is so hard for me! I guess because I was raised eating meat I feel like something is missing when I dont have it. I need to lose weight and I know that not eating meat is a good way to be healthier and lose weight but I don’t have the self control! I would love some advice!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. my experience didn’t go very well for many reasons. i’m writing a post about it, but here are some things that i’ve learned: you need to plan your meals in advance, so you don’t end up not knowing what to eat. always replace your meat with another source of protein that you enjoy, and that reminds you of meat (mushrooms are awesome for that), another easy option is to eat more fish. i wouldn’t advise to go to soy right away because it requires a learning curve to cook and enjoy it. use this time to research a lot of recipes, to try new stuff and get creative. πŸ˜‰

      Like

    1. completely cutting out for me is not an option because my husband isn’t vegan nor does want to become one. but learning about the lifestyle does help a lot. i wrote about how my experience went on the first week, if you want to check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Best of luck on your journey. Hopefully you’ll feel better for your new diet and choices. I did and I never looked back. There’s a big community of vegans out there and they’re usually more than willing to help guide people who are new to the lifestyle, so make sure and reach out. It will hopefully be an easier transition than you think!

    Liked by 1 person

share your vision!

