eternal elixir of youth

via Daily Prompt: Elixir

there’s a song by sérgio godinho {a portuguese singer/song-writer} called eterno elixir da juventude {eternal elixir of youth}.

i was young when that song came out, and i still remember the magical feeling it gave me. it is still one of my favourite musics. and godinho one of my favourite artists.

i would show you the video-clip, if it was still available. instead, i’ll translate you the lyrics {listen to the song too!}. if you aren’t interested in that, jump to the conclusion – you’ll love it! (;

i’m old!
my knee hurts
it hurts part of my forearm
it hurts the inner part
of one leg
and my friend
of my belly
what fatigue
what do I do?
do i choose spleen or lunch?
turn the bone
it hurts the neck
it is from the excess
from the ex-sex
bustle
rustle
i lose my life
already sob
already overdue
i grind
my symptoms
and by the way, of my doctor
the diplomas
i grind
awareness
and by the way, i present penance

oh what I’m sorry
of having done and having had
oh my heart, may be
like what i heard in the church

mea culpa, mea culpa
my maximum apology
is to have come to the present
preserved in brandy

i want to be forever young
my cells move
an effective campaign
holy water and razor
the elixir of eternal youth
the one who wants everything to change
for everything to stay the same
it was maroon
counterfeit
it’s disloyal!

i’m going to beg the apostles
but it’s worse, i dislike them
with so much sin together
it does not get even

i will turn to my saints
these, at least, are so many
that there will be one that comes to me
otherwise I still have buddha.

muhammad goes to the mountain
the pope, no one catches him
in Russia, the rat scratches the cork
come the devil and choose one

the elixir of eternal youth
the one who wants everything to change
for everything to stay the same
was maroon
counterfeit
it’s disloyal!

mysticism now apart
aging is an art
“art-new”, “artwork”
in an unequal struggle

i’m just going to get on my knees.
before the oldest of the old
and ask him the secret
for why is it still so early for him

when the mirror looks at me
not even the hat pulls me off
i lay his tongue out.
i wink my eye and go away.

the elixir of eternal youth
the one who wants everything to change
for everything to stay the same
was maroon
counterfeit
it’s disloyal!

for me, the elixir of eternal youth is looking at the world with marvel and curiosity. it is to feel the magic of every gift the universe has to give us. it is to embrace everything around us.

don’t be afraid of being a child. you’ll be happier.

tumblr_ofloxopIFi1u9ooogo1_500

«-,- { keep writing, } -‘-»

#themaskwriter

~~~~

if you liked this prompt, read what other people are writing as well.

3 Replies to “eternal elixir of youth”

share your vision!

